Oatmeal in the Rice Cooker!

Hi!

If you’re anything like me, it’s hard to get a healthy meal into the kids as they get older. Mine are now 18, 20, 22, and 24 and all still at home. Breakfast goes anywhere from a stop in a drive through or gas station that has breakfast items to grab and go, to the less healthy cereals, and of course donuts. A video talking about the benefits of OATMEAL! I found this on Youtube by: Joan Diet Bars titled: Oatmeal Breakfast For A Longer Life with CC BY license.

I know they will all eat something healthy if I make oatmeal in the morning. I don’t remember exactly where I got the idea to use a rice cooker, but it is FANTASTIC!

I’ve tried overnight oats in the slow cooker without luck, they don’t need all night to cook and have normally ended up dry and baked even if I add more liquid.

The rice cooker though….I put it together before I shower when I grab a cup of coffee, turn it on and go about my morning. In twenty minutes it is perfectly done and did not need me to watch over it and stir every few minutes.

It is a true miracle.

After that, it stays warm until everyone has served up without drying out or continuing to cook.

oatmeal-prep

What I add to it varies with my mood and what I have around. It always, always has water, regular cut oats (I buy GF oats here), and cinnamon. I add cinnamon anywhere I can……I’m sure you’ll hear more about it in the future!

I will often add raisins while it’s cooking, some of us like the nice, plump raisins, some prefer to add them when serving. I have tried and will continue to try many other alternatives that I will let you know about.

When serving, it’s all about personal preference, here is a selection of what we usually go to:

oatmeal-to-eatRecipe:

Oatmeal in a rice cooker:

3 C. oatmeal

1 T. cinnamon

6 C. water

Place oats and cinnamon in the insert and mix. Add water and stir again. Close top and press cook . Walk away! When finished, stir and serve!

Let me know what you think and what you like to add to your oatmeal 🙂

Joni

Author: joni fesler

Hi! My name is Joni Fesler. This blog is a chance for me to talk about "My Lab Rats"! It will cover a broad scope of experiences that I have subjected my family to. Some experiments have great results, and like all experiments, some do not go well at all. The family consists of my husband, three daughters, and son. The term lab rats was dubbed by the family years ago during a time frame when there were more unsuccessful recipes being tried! The name has stuck over time and this gives us a chance to share some of these experiences.

Leave a Reply

